Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 54

    Ubud and Sanur Beach, Bali

    November 26, 2016 in Indonesia ⋅ ⛅ 30 °C

    Promptly leaving India we arrived in Bali in which we pre booked an (Airbnb) 2 story house for a week. Small things like cooking for yourself are very comforting and a little cheaper here and there. We decided to enroll in a 3.5 week immersion class of Ashtanga yoga (the hardest kind) as Beth says this school is internationally known and well respected. I dislike yoga because I am terrible at it, my body does not agree with the ever so slow movement isometrically contracting whilst deep control and awareness of the breath. I get frustrated with myself very quickly and then instantly cause myself increased suffering through bad thoughts and sweat. As I am learning, everyone feels the same way about it and that's why some people love it.....and that's the point! Mastering your body and mind and self control makes the rest of your life easier just like another form of "swimology". As my wise grandfather says "results are directly related to input" so slacking will result in even more difficulty sooner or later. Thanks grandpa I was thinking of you :) !! I know that for me to continually grow outwards into my aversions in life will result in nothing but numerous positive benefits. However, on the morning of day 2, I already begrudgingly sulked to Beth and said I am uncertain on how long I will last ahaha. Today we headed to the beach to soaked up some sunshine and flop around in the water.Read more