Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 65

    Clear Cafe, Ubud

    December 7, 2016 in Indonesia ⋅ ⛅ 30 °C

    "Do sharks complain about Monday? No. they're up early, biting stuff, chasing shit, being scary - reminding everyone they're a freaking shark." Please excuse the cursing but this little quib I read gave me laughter and a strong determination to not go into things half steppingly. Sometimes Beth will suggest to do stuff that I don't really want to do but I don't have any good excuse not to do, so I rattle along nattering away in my head about how I should have said something but now it was too late(like a month long yoga immersion course). But the effects that Ashtanga has on my body outweigh my internal resistance. Every time I practice the series a huge list of faces (mostly my clients) flicker through my mind of who would all massively benefit from this daily practice. In the East yoga is prescribed as actual cures to diseases and certain conditions. In the West corporations have turned it into a fad in which people all wearing 100$ + pairs of leggings ignorantly huddle into a room and sing OMM together with their hands clasped together over their hearts and once finishing the opening mantra go back to being mean to each other. I have learned a lot in life by people watching and observing consciousness on all levels. For example some of my friends who are so hellbent on buying a house right now, saying it's the perfect time to get into the market as a first time buyer. I'm no expert but being housepoor doesn't make sense to me, but to each their own. We stick ourselves into these modes or levels of thinking and nothing can deter such strong affirmations, not even logic or reason. I then examine myself to see where and how I fit in and maybe that's why I'm so awkward. Beth gets me though and she truly is my best friend through and through. I'm so lucky to have met her and have her in my life and this blog post is a sneak up sonnet to the love of my life. She is the most upbeat, consistently optimistic person I have ever met and she makes me want to be a better person every day. I am truly grateful to her and eternally smitten. Love you Bethany.Read more