Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    Finding a rental car

    April 23, 2017 in Morocco ⋅ ⛅ 22 °C

    So the evening before we left Seamus realised reading the printed car rental papers, that they require an extortionately high deposit on your credit card, so we had to cancel it last minute (I think I didn't want to worry Anna and Andi, so I didn't tell them until they were in Spain, sorry guys) we read on the Internet that small local companies are more flexible so our plan was to just wing it. We got to Tangier, sat down in a cafe with mint tea and WiFi and started googling. After a while we split into two teams where Andi and I looked on the Internet, and Seamus and Anna walked around trying to find rentals we saw on the map. After a while I found a place with a number that had WhatsApp and he answered me, so we decided to go and try them. I just can't remember why, but we took 2 separate taxis, where Seamus and me got into one, and told the other to follow us in another one once they find one. They later told me they were terrified, as a minute later the taxi pulled over, and a second moroccan dude got into their taxi, chatting away with the driver, with no explanation. Thankfully it did actually take them to the rental place. We could not have asked for a nicer car rental, then this one that we just found by pure luck:our car did everything we wanted from it and we even negotiated the deposit down to an acceptable level. The Dacia Logan was a faithful friend to us on the whole trip!Read more