Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 26

    Finding Nemo

    November 5, 2018 ⋅ ⛅ 26 °C

    Today I scuba dived the Great Barrier Reef. I actually did 3 dives on 3 different parts of the reef. The reef is about 90 minute boat ride from Port Douglas.
    The first stop was at a place called Chapel. The coral on the Great Barrier Reef was amazing, the best I have ever seen. The fish were abundant and hundreds of different kinds. It is neat to be down 35 feet and look up and see tons of fish swimming above your head.
    The second spot we dove was called Nursery. At one of the places there they have a mountain tower of coral. Our guides told us it is one of the best spots in the world to dive. As we were swimming around the mountain of coral we saw a lot of big fish including barracudas. I was pretty excited to see how many big barracudas there were. Also on our second dive I saw a Great Barrier Reef Giant Clam. As we swam closer to it , it slammed it sides together and caught its prey inside. Wow what a sight.
    Our third spot was at a place called Helms Deep. The little fish were so abundant including clown fish. ( Nemo). While were were making our way along the coral , our guide gave us the full stop signal. He pointed up and over and right above us was a Napoleon Fish. It was huge. We estimate it to be 150kg. Our guide told us afterward it is the King of the Reef in the Food Chain. It is very rare to see and he was quite excited to see it ( see picture). About 2 minutes later I gave the signal for potential trouble, as I had spotted a shark. I saw a White Tip Reef Shark about 10 feet in length. I was happy to get the all ok signal from the guide that we had nothing to worry about.
    The fish and coral are so colourful and you can see really well under water.
    In total I did 3-45 minute dives and I was exhausted for the 90 minute trip back to town.
    Read more