Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    Day 1 in Brussels, Belgium

    August 31, 2019 in Belgium ⋅ ⛅ 28 °C

    So...this city brought back a lot of memories. Brussels was my second ever solo trip when I was new to travelling. I remember my first trip actually got cancelled due to terrorist attacks and I had to rebook it.

    So today I hoped on a train to Belgium, after being stuck in England for the last 6 months. My travel bug has been re-ignited! I came here specifically to stock up on beauty products. I tend to use French products because they work better with my skin. They are more natural in comparison to the crap that we have in England.

    So after beauty shopping, I did some sightseeing. I saw most of the sights that I have seen before...the peeing statues, Atomium, Grote Markt. I also ate a waffle and some frites. Funnily enough they didnt taste as good as the ones that I had on my last trip to Belgium. I suspect this is because I got them from the central touristy area. On my last trip, I didnt eat in the central area.

    The beer is still good as always. I bought a few to take home, but I think I might buy some more tomorrow if the supermarket is open in the morning.

    Overall...Brussels is not one of my favourite cities in Europe. It never has been. But i'm glad that I have seen it twice in different seasons. My first trip was in the winter and this one is in summer. It's a completely different atmosphere. I definitely preferred the winter. It was less crowded so I got to actually observe/ learn about the locals and their culture.

    Anyway...it's 11.27pm and time to sleep.

    Au revoir
    Read more