Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    Day 1 in Bordeaux, France

    October 12, 2019 in France ⋅ ☁️ 22 °C

    So I am in Bordeaux France for the weekend. It is very hot (30 degrees celcius). I think i'm going to make a habit of visiting southern France every October now.

    I started my trip by exploring an urban area called Darwin Ecosystème. They had a market there where I bought an eco friendly bamboo toothbrush. Then I took a bus into the city centre to explore the main shopping street. It was overcrowded which is why I generally hate going to main shopping streets in European cities.

    After this I went to the Le Bar à Vin. Its a popular wine bar in the city centre. The prices are really good and you can get wine for €2 or €3 per glass. I tried all 3 wine flavours...and underestimated the strength of French wine.

    So I had to try and sober up by eating food. It's a good thing that I am in France because I got to eat my beloved moules frites (mussels and chips). I have noticed that food and drinks in Bordeaux is actually reasonably priced.

    Anyway...after eating I went back to my hostel and finally checked in. Nobody was in the room so I could comfortably get ready for bed. The bed was not the most comfortable but hostel is cool so ot doesnt matter. They have a bar, they serve food, the kitchen is huge, and the atmosphere is really pleasant. So i'm can't complain about a lumpy bed that costs £25 per night.
    Read more