Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2

    Day 2 Basel, Switzerland

    December 21, 2019 in Switzerland ⋅ ⛅ 9 °C

    Today I did a day trip to Basel today. My train left a 9am and I arrived in Basel for 10am. I spent the journey reading a book about Switzerland. Trains are so glamorous in Switzerland. They are double decker and always so clean.

    It was a quick 15 minute walk to the city centre where I found the Christmas market. I have to say that this market was absolutely beautiful...maybe even better than the ones I saw in Austria last year. It literally looks like you are walking through a winter wonderland. They have little decorated huts where you can drink your glühwein, instead of standing outside.

    The local people in Basel are not the greatest in comparison to Zürich. I got a very "arrogant" impression of them. They are not rude...but you can just feel that they think they are like the kings of Switzerland. Every city is different in most countries so you don't really know what to expect. I was also surprised that it is a German speaking city because it is actually on the border with France.

    Anyway, the shopping in Basel was really good. I ended up buying a scarf, a fleece, a dress, and a pretty white blouse. All of these were on sale so I don't regret it. Clothes in England are bad quality so I always buy from other European countries.

    I had a nice day wandering around Basel and soaking up the festive atmosphere. It looks like a cute medieval city. My train back to Zürich was at 6pm and I was so tired by the time I got to the hotel.
    Read more