Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 6

    Day hike in tea plantation

    February 9 in India ⋅ ☀️ 29 °C

    We booked to go on a day hike through the trees plantations in Munnar that cover vast swaths of the area. We learnt a lot about the trees spaces and plants in the area from our guide.
    I was told when booking at reception it be easy and I could wear my sandals. Given my ankle was still a little swollen to be wearing hiking shoes I wore my Birkenstock. Worst idea ever. See photo of my feet at the end. The walk was really intense on top of this, in the heat on very narrow paths through fields with just the food our guide bright on his backpack. While us foreigners were dying he was cruising through it with no hat, and no proper walking shoes. My app said I did 24,000 steps over 16km. I now am starting to see what people mean when they say India will chew you up and spit you out.
    The delicious dinner healed most of it though.
    Read more