Satellite
Show on map
  • Lucerne

    April 1, 2019 in Switzerland ⋅ ☀️ 12 °C

    Lucerne! A very unexpected stop for me. In fact Switzerland was never even on my radar. But a twist of fate brought me here and I'm thrilled. I jumped on the opportunity to see a childhood friend of mine who I haven't seen in many years. Turns out, he is now the quarterback for an American football in Lucerne these days. Go Lions! After he contacted me and told me the deal, I basically had no reason not to go. He even had his first game coming up and I said I'd love to go! For a general non-sports fan, it was very interesting and cool to see an American sport played In Europe. The game was actually in Bern, so I took the train there from Zurich airport, and then took the train back to his place in Lucerne that night afterward. Turns out Lucerne is just gorgeous, and (as my friend had told me in advance) has an overall laid back feel for being such a tourist destination. It's a lovely and charming little town, with views galore. We explored a little and found a castle wall that you could climb and walk the length of. Then suddenly, we found ourselves inside of a clocktower. Just in time for 4pm! Loud as hell but very cool! Aside from being a pricey town (as I believe most of Switzerland is) I was thrilled to have caught these views and gotten a feel for the town. Would definitely return! Especially for the sunset by the train station/harbor - breathtaking!Read more