Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 15

    The unexpected

    November 17, 2017 in Argentina ⋅ ☀️ 24 °C

    Today we were planning to go to the thermal spa's, but on route to the University to pick up some olive oil a car crashed into us. A first for me and Nora, and not nice, but amazing kindness from everyone got us through. A boy stopped who spoke English and talked to me whilst we waited in the car for the ambulance to arrive, he brought us cold water to drink, and was generally very very kind, calm and re-assuring, he must have been only 20. No-one else speaks English so I was very very grateful.
    Nora rang the Airbnb lady, whose husband arrived straightaway and took the important things out of the car. Nora was taken to a different hospital as she had health insurance, and I was taken with the driver of the other car to another hospital, which was a bit scary to lose my Spanish translator. But the owner of the Airbnb met me at the hospital, and stayed with me, for about 2 hours whilst we waited for the X-ray and results.
    The results didn't come, and after the shock gradually wore off I felt much better, so we left the hospital and met Nora (who was also amazingly ok) and the husband drove us back to the Airbnb. The accident must have been at 10, and we got back around 2.30 or 3. An amazing meal was provided from nowhere:
    Grilled aubergine, rice, fish, a bowl of *homemade* green olives as big as your head, green salad, tomatoes and boiled egg. Tapenade and crackers, and homemade tomato ketchup. And a beer.
    This made everyone (well, me) feel much better. The Airbnb lady has invited us to a wedding she is going to tomorrow- she says it will be very nice and traditional and we should go! (Hospitality!)
    We will see how we feel tomorrow. My left ribs are very sore, I think from the seatbelt, and to do anything (especially sneezing or coughing) hurts them, but otherwise all seems to be ok.
    The husband has now taken Nora to the Police station to be breathalysed (a bit delayed!)
    Read more