Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 4

    Day 2-4 Exploring Porto.

    April 14, 2016 in Portugal ⋅ ⛅ 14 °C

    What a beautiful city. I can see why my fellow 2015 peregrinos visited here last year. Estelle and I have loved visiting the city's fantastic sights and tasting local foods. We did a food tour on Tuesday and since then retrace our steps back to some of the restaurants and markets we visited. Yesterday morning was greeted by heavy thunder storms which thankfully passed. We got a local bus out of the city to Maatosinhos. John Brierley recommends this location as the ideal place to begin the Camino Portuguese. Estelle and I walked 5 miles back along the shoreline towards Porto. Although it was cold, the weather was sunny. We had a short break before a tour of Porto Cathedral. I collected my first Camino stamp there. We crossed the iconic Ponte d D.Luis bridge over the Rio Douro to visit the Port area. One more day before Estelle flies home and I begin my Camino to Santiago de Compostela.Read more