Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    Leon to La Robla 27kms

    April 29, 2022 in Spain ⋅ ☀️ 6 °C

    It seemed strange leaving Leon and turning north as everyone else was heading west.

    The walk out of the city was not through an industrial estate but was boring and hard on my feet.

    I set off at 08.15am which is late for me. I walked steadily along the road until 10am when I stopped at the first bar I found open for coffee and some toast.

    It was a surreal moment as this other Spanish pilgrim asked me if I was Michael Byrne in a thick Spanish accent. He had just booked the same pension tonight. We had breakfast together. The bar owner presented us both with a San Salvador neckerchief and a badge. I thought that today was supposed to be flat. I was wrong.

    I left my new pilgrim friend and set my own pace on the trail. It is BEAUTIFUL! I spent hours walking in old forests in the hills. The walking was hard but very rewarding.

    So far, I’ve seen four other pilgrims on this section. I stopped briefly after 17kms for a spot of lunch in a small village. There was a small fountain and some bench’s in the shade.

    The last 10kms were through small villages and road walking which I hate. I had a couple of close shaves with cars not moving out but it’s amazing to see how quick they move out when you leave the point of your walking pole sticking out near the side of their cars. 🥹

    I arrived in La Robla around 2.30pm a little footsore. I’ve booked a room in a pension over a bar in the town. The proprietor is lovely and has washed my clothes for free. (She’s certainly brave). She clearly cares for the pilgrims.

    I intend to have a few beers and relax. Tomorrow, the Camino weaves it’s way into the mountains. I may be offline for a few days….who knows?
    Read more