Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    Poldura to Llanos de Someron 20kms

    May 1, 2022 in Spain ⋅ ☁️ 12 °C

    I had a pleasant meal in a nearby Casa rural with four other peregrinos.
    I returned to the adjoining Albergue to find some lunatic in combats checking in. It was a little surreal but the night was uneventful. This morning, he got up, grunted and left without saying a word.
    I set off on the Camino just before dawn at 6.45am and as I left the village had a steep climb for the next hour or more to the famous Collado del Canto de la Tisa cross at almost 1600m. The view was amazing as the mountains were bathe in the morning sun.
    I crossed over the pass towards a small village. There were still patches of snow on the trail. Little did I know that most of the day would be spent descending to the valley floor.
    I joined a fellow peregrino Jacque and we walked together to the Puerto de Pajares 1378m. This pass separates the provinces of Leon and Asturias.
    Jacque and I walked short parts of the descents together until his knees caused him pain and he slowed down. I eventually got to the base of the valley and stopped under a tree in a small valley for a pilgrim lunch - bread, cheese and chorizo. Jacques joined me and we continued on our way until we reached a small hamlet called Santa Marie. We came across a small gathering outside a building that we quickly realised was a bar so we joined in on wetting a baby’s head ceremony. The last few kilometres took us along a dirt track to our Albergue for tonight.
    The Albergue is very modern and an oasis in these mountains for pilgrims.
    Read more