Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 10

    Day 9: 104km (73km)

    July 11, 2016 in France ⋅ ⛅ 23 °C

    Computer says 104km, Google says 73km
    :( so annoying as it puts my perspective of distance out. But at least i know and maybe I'll find someone who knows how to fix it.

    We left earlier today! 9:30, it was so much cooler! We had a good plan, stop every quarter for a drink. The first one was in a tiny village that we almost thought had no shops! But we found the tiny boulangerie with the locals having a chat. The second stop was in decise, we found a nice restaurant on a harbour just outside of the city so decided to have Sunday lunch. We were so out of place among the well of middle aged and elderly French crowd, two smelly, sweaty Australians. The food was great, Michelle's cocktail was more of a juice though. We were tossing up a nap under a tree or a coffee to keep us going and decided on the coffee.

    We had 37km to go, but didn't find anywhere for our last drink stop so were getting really tired by the end. The last stop was burbon lancey. So happy to finally see the camping sign! I really like that the campsites around here all have an open grass place for cyclists.

    I started to talking to an older woman with gray hair, I asked her , (in French) if she was working alone. I was a bit tired, She looked really confused then I realised and corrected myself, traveling alone! She was, and had been through massive central (=mountains!). I told her we are are to ardeche and it's super hot there, she said wisely, don't worry it will cool down soon. She was right! The next day was cloudy and cool!

    We swam in the pool then watched the soccer with the most annoying children in the world taking and playing. No one scored by full time so we left. And no noise after that so we assumed Portugal won.

    The last photo is my mouth. I think I've had tonsillitis since leaving so Michelle was trying to take a picture of them. Without success
    Read more