Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 47

    Travel to vietnam

    March 16, 2023 in Vietnam ⋅ ⛅ 28 °C

    I’ve been pretty bad at keeping up with my travel journal recently and have just about managed to write stuff down in my notebook, but I will try and fill in the FindPenguins whenever I can find time as I’m finally up to date in my notebook.

    So the journey into Vietnam was pretty horrible. The bus arrived at 4:30 am, half an hour late, and then I was crammed into a small coach with very little legroom, dancing my way through the Lao countryside. The beauty of the rule scenery was slightly mad by the comfort of the ride, and the fact that the bus kept stopping to pick up/deliver parcels.

    The border crossing was relatively smooth, but did take quite a while, and was not particularly pleasant: Muddy, crowded with lorries, and the air thick with dust and diesel fumes from the backup of vehicles stuck, waiting to cross.

    After arriving at the crossing at 10 am, I’m starting to drive out of the Vietnamese side at midday. I thought the worst of the journey was over, but we pulled over before we even left side of the building. It turns out the brakes/suspension/something hydraulic, looking hot, shade off the underside of the bus and we were stuck for the next five hours waiting for a replacement. I entertained myself with my book, the other travels on the bus, and going to explore a bit with a Vietnamese kid who found lots of “shiny“ rocks (that seem to be his favourite word).

    Eventually, we reached Da Nang 18 hours after setting off, eight hours later than expected, then I got a quick bite to eat before getting another
    45 minute Taxi To Hoi an to join Sophia.

    My initial thoughts of Vietnam were of the countless colourful LED signs, tall thin buildings, and the constant sound of car/bike horns all of which proved a stark contrast to quiet and underdeveloped Laos. I wasn’t quite prepared for the scale of the city of Da Nang either, far greater and busier than anything in Laos.
    Read more