Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 35

    In family footsteps...

    May 23, 2017 in England ⋅ ⛅ 17 °C

    All my days I've heard of these people. Uncle Jimmy, Aunt Iris... Now we share meal, lounge, heart.
    All my days I've heard of these place names: Bradford, Halifax, Hebden Bridge, the Moors. Now they rise and fall before me, literally up hill and down dale.
    We have visited birthplaces for parents and family, playsites of children now past, gravesides of young and old.
    It's very full of heartfelt wandering and wondering.

    We stayed at a small campsite beside the Cock O The North pub. We ended up staying a whole week here as we gently recovered from all the frenzy of Europe. Jimmy drove us to see lots of family sites. We also hired a car for three days to see Haworth and York and revisit Hebden Bridge.
    Read more