Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    Servant Leader In The Wild (Q5)

    May 11, 2023 in Greece ⋅ ☁️ 18 °C

    Question 5: Write about one Greek leader you have met on this trip: introduce him or her, describe the parts of the leadership system in relation to him or her, you might want to use the leadership system diagram to help you explain.

    Throughout this trip we encountered many different people that demonstrated aspects of being a servant leader, but the one that had the most impact on me was Kayra. Kayra is the founder of Love Without Borders, the NGO we volunteered with while in Greece. One of the reasons Kayra stood out to me was her incredible story of how Love Without Borders came to be. I am still in awe of her initiative. She saw a group of people that needed help and she found a way to provide them help. She is setting an amazing example of the quote "Be the change you wish to see in the world." She also is so humble in everything she does. I am so inspired by Kayra and moved by the stories of the artists. I think bringing LWB to Southwestern in some facet would be an amazing thing. I think, if possible, it would be amazing to have Kayra come speak at Southwestern. What we learned from her I feel is so important. As young adults from small town Kansas we do not hear enough about the refugee crisis or ways we can help. At one point, while talking about starting LWB, Kayra said something about at the end of the day, everyone is a person. This is something that I have thought for a long time. We're all human. We all deserve safety, love, and to be treated with kindness. Kayra demonstrated this so well. I hope to take what I learned from Kayra and use it to bring awareness of LWB and the refugee crisis to Southwestern and Winfield.
    Read more