Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    Roma

    March 18, 2018 in Italy ⋅ ⛅ 10 °C

    Left home at 0.30 for Manchester Airport in the snow. We parked without incident at Toad Parking and straight onto a bus to take us to the airport. The driver was a bit stressed because the other bus had frozen brake pipes so there was only onw in operation.
    Manchester Airport was fairly awful. The baggage check queues were huge and my bag got pulled because they thought I had a lip balm in it. It turned out to be a make up brush but whether it was a lip balm or a brush I was hardly going to start an international incident with them.
    We boarded the plane on time but then got held almost an hour before we took off. Only one runway was in operation due to the weather and they came and de-iced the plane before we could taxi.
    It was a good flight although we were very crushed up. At one point I went to show Dave how your fingers reduce in a pressurised cabin, next ting my grandma’s engagement ring went flying. I managed to see it on the floor and put my foot on it so it couldn’t move. I waited for a stewardess to go past, however there was a steward and so I asked him to help with the ring, he got down on his knees and retrieved the ring and presented it to me – the first time any man has presented me with a diamond ring whilst on his knees! We landed in Rome and picked up the bags and then got the bus into town and another bus round to the hotel Tiziani where we are staying.
    The hotel is lovely and in a great location. We unpacked and then went out to get some food and found a lovely little pizzeria very close to the hotel. The food was great and we may return there before we leave.
    Read more