Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 27

    Final leg to HOME

    October 10, 2017 in the United States ⋅ ☀️ 7 °C

    We awoke to a temp of about 39 degrees in Mason City, Iowa, had breakfast, put on our long underwear and packed the car. We were a short distance from I-35, so we took it towards home. We stopped at Cabela's, just north of Owatonna, to warm up. We then made the final drive passing through New Prague. We took the day to rest and unpack and then in the evening went to visit the Scheffler family to deliver some gifts we had purchased for the children while on the trip.

    It is good to be home. This trip's driving was a bit more stressful than any I have completed in the past. The greater traffic, limited rear view visibility of a Phaeton and the road manners of a very few made for some near misses and caused one to be extra vigilant and frankly, very tense while driving. It's good to be home, I said that before but saying it twice seems appropriate.

    Comment: Funny, equal to the best colors we saw from the trees along the whole trip was right across the road from our driveway as we were arriving home. Glad we made it home in time to see it.

    Update: I have listened to myself comment to friends and family on how the trip was and I find myself saying the places and people were great but the driving experience was not good. We had more close calls on this trip than any other. Saddens me to come to this realization but I think the Phaeton may be retired from extended trips due to the lack of visibility and occupant protection should a road incident occur. We have traveled over 95,000 miles in this car without accident but this last trip proved to me that we may have only accomplished this with a good bit of luck.
    Read more