Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 4

    Oslo

    April 10, 2023 in Norway ⋅ ☁️ 7 °C

    I disembarked into a quiet Oslo, very still and mostly closed for the bank holiday Monday. I started a wander to get my bearings, noting the locations of the hotel and Central Station, before making for the royal palace. I passed by the cathedral, the up market shops and strolled through the royal parks before heading down to the harbour.

    I sat and read on a bench in an older part where tall ships were moored (three brigs and three ship-rigged vessels). Wrapped up in my jacket, I enjoyed the cool air and all manner of birds took interest in me once my snacks emerged. After a time I headed past the Nobel peace centre and along the opulent water front; I stumbled on the anchor of Blücher and walked around the Tjuvholmen skulpturpark.
    Read more