Satelital
Mostrar en el mapa
  • Día 2

    Camping at dry lake ford

    28 de mayo de 2023, Inglaterra ⋅ ☀️ 11 °C

    After about three hours of walking, I took a break to eat some grapes in the ruins of an old building, possibly a shepherd or mine worker’s cottage. The ruin stood at the intersection of the the old tramway that forms a long section of the two-moors-way, and a rugged east-west path across the moors. After the l break I turned west, leaving the broad rocky trail that I had brought me most of the way from Ivy bridge.

    On the new trail, the terrain was uneven, and included marshy areas and fords over streams. I spied a rare flat, clear spot in the moor near a rushing stream, so with the sun already fairly low to the horizon I made camp. I set up the tent, boiled some filtered stream water to rehydrate one of my home-made camping meals and then set my bed whilst the food stood.

    With a morning of emails and gardening, three hours of train travel and about four hours of walking under my belt an early night seemed in order.
    Leer más