Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2

    Prince town

    May 28, 2023 in England ⋅ ☁️ 19 °C

    From the reservoir, I made a steep climb over rough, rocky terrain to the top of leather tor. From there I continued to Sharpi tor (which really makes a mark on the landscape) and sat for a while to write.

    I continued across open moor to the top of Leeden tor, then dropped down onto the old Princeton railway, as it makes its long looping ascent onto the high moor. I followed the old railway, it’s tracks pulled up some 70 years ago, into Princetown.

    Princetown is the larger of the settlements on the moor, home to a variety of pubs and cafes (mostly closed by the time I got there). An outdoor shop sported a sign that read ‘Ice warrior’ - slightly uncanny as I was at that moment listening to an audio book about Doctor Who’s ice warriors.

    Princetown is also home to HM Prison Dartmoor. Originally built during the Napoleonic period to house prisoners of war, it is a gloomy, imposing structure. It has the look of a workhouse or mill from the smoke drenched early part of the Industrial Revolution.
    Read more