Satellite
Afficher sur la carte
  • Jour 9

    Avonmouth

    26 août 2023, Angleterre ⋅ ☁️ 18 °C

    From Newport, route 4 follows a meandering route along some dirt tracks and then a series of backroads across the flat plain along the Severn (Hafren) estuary. The weather was mostly pleaseant, but I got caught in a short, but very cold, heavy thunderstorm around Caldicot.

    As quickly as it the bad wether came it had gone again - and the bright sunshine as I crossed the Severn bridge (pont Hafren) was in stark contrast the the grey beginnings of storm Betty on the outbound trip. I decided to stick to Sustrans routes at least as far as Bristol, having no desire to reaquaint myself with the noise and fumes of the ring road. From the England end of Severn bridge I continued with route 4 as it headed back West along the opposite side of the estuary, past the newer Prince of Wales bridge (pont Tywysog Cymru) - sadly not open to cycles.

    After passing the bridge, I joined route 41; it provides an alternate route into central Bristol - approaching via the river Avon to avoid many of the urbanised areas. It continues West to Avon mouth, where I got a great view from the Avonmouth bridge (although its not a great place to stand around, since it also carries the M5 motorway).
    En savoir plus