Satelliet
Weergeven op kaart
  • Dag 4

    Avallon

    4 juli 2010, Frankrijk ⋅ ☁️ 23 °C

    On the evening of the 3rd, I made it to a camp site at Vermenton, about 25Km out side of Avallon. Camping les Coullemières was almost full, and it was quite late; at first it looked like I might be turned away, until another guest highliged that 'monsiour sur la vello'. The camp site was beautifully lit and had a friendly vibe.

    Not sure what that would make yesterday's milage, but given a few detours, getting losts and the fact that its a seriously dog-leg route, I think I must have crossed the 100 mile mark in terms of pedaling since Paris. I've stopped for lunch and exploration in Avallon; that places me just over 1 day behind what my ittinerary says (I had aimed to camp here on the evening of the second).

    I took a little time to explore the medieval town; I had been hooked by the idea of visiting as soon as I saw the name and that it was roughly on route plan that I was forming. I had a pleasant lunch In Avallon next to the town's striking clocktower. I even felt compelled and brave enough to attempt some intermediate French in praise of the meal.

    I consulted my map over lunch; I've made it about half way from Paris to Genvea (possibly just under). As there have been only two "proper" riding days thats not too shabby. I think I'm still well on course to be at the rendezvous in Genva on the night of the 6th.

    Speaking of my map, yesterday's harvest of solar power was around 10%, perhaps a little more if I'm being optimistic. Its not staggering, but its enough to get by for a while, although I am concerned about keeping the mobile charged for the satnav. To be honest I'm 99% sure I can make Dijon from here without a map or satnav, and 80% sure I could make Geneva unaided too, however I've precisley no apitite for testing that theory.
    Meer informatie