Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 6

    Day 6: Arenal Volcano Natl Park & Hotel

    June 2, 2022 in Costa Rica ⋅ ⛅ 27 °C

    Forgot my phone today so did not get as many pictures but we went on a hike in Volcano National Park. Then we went to the town of La Fortuna- ate lunch at a very good seafood restaurant (I had Mahi mahi), did a little souvenir shopping, the kids got some ice cream, then we headed back to the hotel around 3 PM and the kids swim until 730. We are staying at Los Lagos. I highly recommend this Hotel; it is fantastic. There is a swim up bar here in the Hot Springs pool so I hung out there most of the late afternoon today what’s some of the other parents and the kids too. The hot springs water is heated by the volcano and has natural silica in it which is good for the skin. There are waterslides here and my boys have gone down them like 100 times. You also order food near the pool so the kids had pizza I had some fish tacos. Some other people took pictures so I can add more later after the end of the trip.
    In 1968 the volcano had an explosion/eruption that spewed rocks in the air. It also caused the valley area of Arenal to flood. The government built new houses in the hills for residents, creating New Arenal.
    Read more