Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 6

    Day 6 - No call from the police..

    August 5, 2022 in Croatia ⋅ ☀️ 31 °C

    I woke up quite a few times that night because I heard something moving around the forest close to the tent. I tried not to bother about it too much and eventually fell back to sleep. Around 6am (it was bright already) I heard it again amd decided to get up and check. In about 10m distance to my tent a sheep and a little lamb were staring at me. 🐑🐑 I guess we were camping on their trail and they weren't sure what to do about it. At some point they walked off into the woods again but I stayed up and continued reading my book in the hammock until Chris and Heike woke up.

    Once we packet our stuff, we went for a little cycling trip in the holm oak tree forest / national park, in which we got a little lost. On the way out we wanted to take a different route and ended up carrying our bikes and bags individually down a very steep and rocky hiking path for about 600m. 😅 Not the best start of the day but once we grabbed breakfast in a little town nearby it got better. We cycled back to Rab where we split up and said goodbye for now. I stayed in Rab for some strolling and a ferry to Pag island in the afternoon, while Heike and Chris moved on to the south. I locked my bike including all my in a very public and busy spot, thinking that the more people there the less likely it gets stolen. I'm still struggling a bit with leaving all my stuff unattended for quite some time but it's way too exhausting to take it with me on a walking tour. It was still there once I got back. 😁 I also called up a campsite in advance to check for availability this time so that I could search for wild camping spots along the way alreafy if there's again nothing available.
    The taxi boat ride to Lun (Pag island) took around 20 min, when I got to the small boat I wondered how all people including me and my stuff will fit on it but the captain didn't seem to worry. 😅
    Arriving in Lun I had to cycle up a really steep hill (well, I pushed half the way), but once I was up there it was worth all the hassle!! There were beautiful olive trees everywhere and cycling along that ride with sea view on the right and the Velebit mountains to the left was amazing. Also it wasn't that hot anymore.

    I arrived at a little campground and went straight for swim. After I was hanging out in my hammock at the beach and read a little until the sun was set.

    All in all it felt good to leave Rab island and it felt like moving on from my passport disaster, even though it wasn't found that day..
    Read more