Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 5

    Day 5 - I think I lost my passport..

    August 4, 2022 in Croatia ⋅ ☀️ 30 °C

    Good morning people - I lost my passport. -.-

    Chronologically:
    Chris, Heike, and me woke up around 6am this morning because the guy from yesterday came by and parked his car literally right next to hour tents. He fed his sheep and left again. We then packed up and cycled back to Rab City to grab a coffee and some breakfast. My plan for the day was to stroll around the city and catch a ferry in the afternoon to Pag. Before we left our bikes and bags unattended, I wanted yo grab my valuables to take them with me. Well, I couldn't find my passport. I unpacked everything but it wasn't there anymore. I started to get stressed. It's the only valid ID I took with me and I will need it to get into Albania since it's not EU territory.
    The last time having the passport for sure was at the first campground in Rab City where I took it out to check in. Once that didn't work I put in the front pocket for easy access at the next campground. On the way there, I took my phone out of this pocket for navigation a few times. I assume the passport fell out at some point. 😞 I also did leave my bike unattended for a few minutes twice that time for a swim and the supermarket. But I honestly doubt it was stolen.

    I skipped on the city tour and drove back to the first campground, then our sleeping place and called the second campground. I unpacked everything again to make sure and called the police then. They told me to come by to get a confirmation for the loss which would allow me "to get out of Croatia and back home", since Croatia is not a Schengen-country. So I went there and it took the very friendly police officer 1.5h to manually write down in Croation bold letters what happened. He asked pretty detailed where I've been since I recognized the loss, even wanted to know the supermarkets. I had to kind of alter the reality a little when it came to the sleeping situation, so I told that locals allowed us to stay with them but holding back the fact that it wasn't actually their propery..🙈 In the end he recommended me to stay for another night on the island in case it was found and handed to the police, and to call the embassy in Zagreb to get a replacement.

    So I will stay for another night on the island wild camping with Chris and Heike, waiting for a call from the police which didn't happen. I called the embassy and willl go there on Monday for a day. They will give me a temporary one year passport that will allow me to continue my trip for 540 Kuna (~70€).
    The rest of the day was pretty relaxed, not much cycling but camping in one of the largest and mosr beautiful holm oak forests in the Mediteranean area and having a swim in the sea.
    Read more