Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 15

    Miranda do Douro

    April 22, 2023 in Portugal ⋅ 🌙 13 °C

    Sad to see Helen off on the train to Porto and her own adventures packing her bike away. My train back to pocinho was cancelled then delayed so didn't get on the road til 1pm. Decidedly cooler today so made reasonable time slogging out of the valley and onto the plateau that defines this corner of Portugal. Also had 15 k on a nice cinder cycle way - until I realised that the road, largely alongside had virtually no traffic . Indeed today, over the first 100k, I'd be surprised if I was passed by as many as 100 cars. This corner is pretty remote - known as the " wild east" of Portugal. I eventually arrived in the border town of Miranda d D at 7 - or was that 8- my phone keeps switching between Portugal time and Spanish time. Here they speak a different language, do stick dances and wear silly hats.Read more