Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 18

    Logorno

    April 25, 2023 in Spain ⋅ ☁️ 23 °C

    I discovered a new range of mountains today - the sierra de cebollera. They lie between Burgos and Logorno- and became my high point of the ride so far. Fortunately Burgos sits at 850m so there wasn't much climbing up them. However I didn't fancy much uphill Camino gravel for the first 20 k - so opted for the adjacent n102. This was undoubtedly the busiest road I've been on so far, with a procession of big trucks. The hard shoulder is broad and usually clean but never big enough with the lorries' draft. So it wasn't a hard decision to find a detour which was beautiful and quiet- but long.
    Over the hill and I drop out of the Douro catchment and into the Ebro which drains into the Med. I was strangely excited by this as a mark of my progress. The watershed also delineated the border between Castile y Leon and Rioja- the smallest Spanish county. And a return to vines. A shadow on the horizon delineates the next barrier- the Pyrenees.
    Read more