Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 21

    Mimizan

    April 28, 2023 in France ⋅ ☁️ 24 °C

    Too far today. Partly dictated by weather ( might be raining tomorrow) but also due to accomodation options, I did my longest ride today. Despite being the flatest, it was too far. You know the old joke "why are you riding north to Norway? It's all uphill" that's what it felt like- a slight headwind meant it was a day of uninterrupted effort. After getting through Biarittz- which I thought was pretty cool, Bayonne- lost in an industrial estate, and the oddly named Capbreton( no headland, no hats, not in Brittany) it was then flat endless forests. The velodysee cycle path was easy to follow and nearly all tarmaced and away from traffic- amazing. Though with this came lots of peddling traffic. All very friendly and by the end of the day I was remembering to say "Bonjour"rather than "Hola" to my 2 wheeled friends. An unnecessary detour to Mimizan plage at the end of the day was not what I needed. But the day is done- and a much shorter day tomorrow to look forward toRead more