Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 53

    Roros

    May 30, 2023 in Norway ⋅ ☀️ 14 °C

    I awoke to a beautiful , still, blue sky day. Fantastic views from my hotel window across the lake. After breakfast a wee dip in the jacuzzi again before eventually setting off . The scenery was very reminiscent of the Cairngorms XL- especially Rothiemurchus- but without clouds or midges. It warmed up quickly too and it wasn't long before I'd swapped into my short sleeved top . What a difference a day makes!! Today was a very short ride- possibly the shortest day of the whole trip, certainly the easiest with a light tail wind following me up the steady incline to Roros. Saw an eagle. Managed to waste some time by following one of the cycle computers "redirections" which ended up as a forest fight...
    Frustratingly unable to take advantage of the fine conditions today as there was no accomodation for at least another 100km. But legs happy to stop after a mere 70km. Anyhow , accomodation tonight is somewhat fitting as it's in a rehabilitation centre! If they have spare beds they rent them out!! Imagine the NHS (a) having spare beds and ( b) wanting to stay in them!! Advantages include walk in showers, adjustable beds and emergency pull cords for room service ( I think that's what she said...). Disadvantages. - maybe having to manage the stairs unaided and make my breakfast before I'm allowed to carry on...
    Roros is an UNESCO listed old mining town with very typical architecture: lovely on a sunny day
    Read more