Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 60

    Sandnessjoen

    June 6, 2023 in Norway ⋅ ☁️ 6 °C

    Another day of 2 halves!! A reluctant start into the rain but delayed as there was a promise of the rain being light and passing through. Of course in Norwegian terms that meant a good drenching , cold and not easing up. Had a mini strop with my disappointment which became a major strop when I missed the ferry by 5 mins.
    However Lady Luck was not far away. Firstly a brilliant cafe and with home roasted coffee where I sat in a corner in my own little puddle getting recaffeinated. Then the rain stopped. A trip to the local museum where a strange man started to ask me questions then asked if I would like to meet the king and queen. Not really sure what he was on about I declined as I was quite keen to catch the ferry I'd already been waiting 2 hours for... Turns out it was a genuine offer: as I left the museum the king and queen arrived in the village ( at least I think it was them, certainly minimal pomp and circumstance in these parts!)
    But I had a ferry to catch. Could that have been my sliding doors moment? Instead I spent the ferry with Jan the mad German cycle tourer and we cycled a wee way together. The sun was out, I was vaguely dry and getting drier . At one point I even had my jacket off!! I'd already booked a hotel before Warm Showers host Havard had got back to me but he offered to give me dinner: cod tongues, a local delicacy and quite yummy in a gelatinous vaguely fishy sort of way.
    Read more