Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 16

    Down and out

    September 6, 2023 in Tanzania ⋅ ☁️ 21 °C

    On returning to Barafu (base) camp there was barely time to stop and think what we'd achieved before we needed to carry on down the mountain. Most wanted to give in to the feeling of slumber and close their eyes for a few minutes but the guides would not allow this ( the theory being this might confuse a picture of delayed cerebral oedema) so we only had time to eat something before heading on down the hill. Some discussion regarding whether we push on to mweka camp (3100m, 3-4 hrs) or stoppped at millenium camp ( 3800m, 2 hrs) with the guides: in my mind no one was going beyond millenium: my team were on their knees. I wasn't too concerned about anyone's altitude symptoms so 3800mand millenium it was. Fortunate for 2 reasons: the last bit to mweka was slippery muddy and would have been treacherous on tired legs at dusk-and it allowed me to fit in with Hels and Marks' itinerary and walk down with them.

    Despite the euphoria of summiting, there was little chat or excitement at Millenium camp as most succumbed to overwhelming tiredness and hit the sack early.
    The next morning was a tough and slippery sting in the tail 3 hours down to mweka gate , but all a blur. Waking on that last day on the mountain, on the edge of the rain forest with the perennial sea of clouds beneath us was with mixed feelings: what an amazing experience to spend time on the mountain with some lovely folk- both my Tanzanian team and the participants, but living at the dusty altitude of Karanga was tough and there's no doubt in my mind that the final summit push was the hardest thing I've ever done in my life. Over ( many) years I've taken on some tough physical challenges in my time, but hypoxia drains everything and leaves you clinging on to just existing. Kilimanjaro: beware!!!!
    Read more