Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 4

    Day 2 Pocahontas

    July 25, 2022 in the United States ⋅ ⛅ 25 °C

    I ran into a number of hiccups getting a tent camping spot, but they are so totally understaffed and confused that you could ignore everything and keep looking for the right answer.

    These people make Ida Grove look organized. I ended up 50 ft from the porta potties, access to water and the car parked next to the tents. I couldn't ask for more.
    I headed downtown for something, anything. I found all the diet coke I could want, ice at the gas station for Chris' yeti and the information booth people were wonderful.

    Now eating homemade klotchkees and, off and on, listening to oompa band. Chris and Roger are back on the road. Chris hit up the pie lady. Roger focused on completing the ride and beer.
    By 2:00 p.m. Chris was in Pocahontas and Roger was on his second beer. Life is good.

    After a general perusal of the festive downtown area we all headed back to the tents with the bikes. I had left everything open, including the car windows and rain was coming. The guys changed and we waited out some rain, then walked back downtown for dinner and the complete RAGBRAI experience.

    Lots of good food and drink. l found a coffee shop I can stop at in the morning,. Yay
    Everyone but me in bed by 7:30 p.m..
    Read more