Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 5

    Swindon

    August 16, 2023 in England ⋅ ⛅ 23 °C

    It started well (except for another electric fence) but the last six miles were generally housing and industrial estates. Hot pavement, loud music in passing cars, lads on electric bikes wearing face masks.

    The photo with the houses on the lake is taken south of South Cerney. It looked lovely on the map, walking through a mini lakeland. The reality was a path with greenery and fences either side, CCTV and 'Private signs'. I had to ignore a few 'Keep Out's to get a photo. I wonder how pretty it all was before gentrification.

    I didn't take a photo of a Cotswold street yesterday so I took one today. It is a super pretty area. Obviously it is also very white and Range Rover but I'll definitely be back.

    I woke up before sunrise. The last photo is pretty much what I saw when I opened my eyes. It was cold and the meadow flowers are still asleep. I thought they looked a bit like a crowd at a gig but maybe I've been walking too much.

    The penultimate photo is the sunrise. If you want to feel any positive emotion from the full range available then just sit and watch this event. It is humbling. Immense. And it's available daily, at a venue near you and free of charge.

    Highlights of today were dancing butterflies, the sunrise (obvs) and a bloke just came up and shook my hand after overhearing me asking for a signature for my pilgrim record.
    Read more