Satelit
Tunjukkan pada peta
  • Hari 10

    Port Dinan

    21 Ogos 2023, Perancis ⋅ ☀️ 18 °C

    As a foot passenger, I couldn't book a cabin on the ferry so sleep alternated between a reclining chair and the floor. In spite of that, I loved the ferry. It was great to be able to wander around such a massive vessel and the views this morning as we approached St Malo were captivating. I had to stand next to an exhaust vent to keep warm though. I definitely want to do this again.

    After getting lost a couple of times in St Malo, I managed to find and follow the Voie Verte to Port Dinan. It is a dead straight gravel path for cyclists and pedestrians only so it was nice to have a hassle free walk. People did try to talk to me now and then but I can say 'Je ne parle pas français' like a local and that generally put them off. One guy persisted and we did have a bit of a chat. I tried to speak French but he kept laughing and reverting to English which put me off a bit. Yo be fair to him, I did slip into Spanish a couple of times, and I also said 'Des Moines' when I meant three months.

    Anyway, Dinan is a very steep and old fortified town with the River Rance at its base. There are tons of photogenic streets and buildings, and plenty of bars. Everyone is wandering around glowing and dolled up for the evening so it has a genuine holiday vibe. Unfortunately all the accommodation is booked up, including camping, so I need to get walking again.

    Photos - St Malo from the ferry, Voie Verte, two pics of Dinan from low and high towns.
    Baca lagi