Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 15

    Au revoir La Vilaine

    August 26, 2023 in France ⋅ ☁️ 21 °C

    So after two days or so I have to say goodbye to the imposing majesty of La Vilaine. This river has a view at every bend. It is beautiful and it is massive. You can sense the force of the volume of water it holds when you walk past the cliffs it has carved out. They are sheer. It's a shame I can't spend more time on it.

    I met two pilgrims walking the same route as me. They started at Mont St Michel and were heading to Bordeaux. From Bordeaux they were catching a train to somewhere in Spain depending on how they felt at Bordeaux. The walk between Bordeaux and Spain is notorious for being a hard slog so I can understand their logic. I would feel as though I had missed out if I didn't walk pretty much the whole way so I'll enjoy the slog. I hope .

    I passed the 1,600km to go sign! I thought 'that can't be right! I had to be closer than that.' But then I did a bit of mental arithmetic and realised it is right. It's much easier to do the walk when you stop thinking about where you're going and just enjoy where you are!

    Photos - rainclouds ahead, chapel and bench, La Vilaine in the morning, 1,600 km to go
    Read more