Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 22

    Saint Juire

    September 2, 2023 in France ⋅ 🌧 16 °C

    I don't know what came first, the storm or the dog, but I do know it was three in the morning. The lightning was almost constant. It was like someone was having trouble with a giant florescent lightbulb. I remember hearing the dog bark before I saw him. He came and sat with me and we watched the storm together. Well he did a fair bit of fidgeting too! The storm lasted an hour but the dog stayed afterwards and did his best to get on my mattress. I fought him off until I fell asleep. I woke again at 6.30 to see that he'd won and my legs were on the grass. I've since been told his name is Benco. He doesn't like storms so he escaped from the pen he shares at night with two other dogs and would've been glad of my company.

    I camped in someone else's garden last night but this experience was the complete opposite of the previous one. Jerome is a real character. A wall of muscle with blonde curly hair and an ear to ear smile. His kids gave him a ribbing about his attempts at English. I didn't know he tried. I only knew there were bits that I couldn't understand at all. I think he was just making up his own words. He is so nice he invited me to eat with his family but I was too tired unfortunately. The funniest thing about Jerome is his work. He runs a fleet of ambulances (I guess ambulances are private in France) and a funeral parlour! How is that for diversifying along the supply chain?

    Today has been lovely. A little bit of rain but enough sun to dry my stuff and the walking has been good.

    Photos - Saint Juire, my mate at 3am, and again at 6.30 am having taken the mattress, my shelter in Jerome's garden, Jerome's business (headstones on the right, ambulances at the back),drying my stuff at the side of the path during a dry spell.
    Read more