Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 34

    Forest

    September 14, 2023 in France ⋅ ☀️ 24 °C

    So this guy tells me that I started walking in the largest forest in Europe today. I thought I'd been walking in a forest for the past few days but he said they were different forests. This was the biggest! I had to fact check him. And he's wrong. But I am walking in the largest man made woodland in western Europe. A lot of this area used to be marsh until the 18th century. In fact, the shepherds used to get around on stilts when this was marsh. I guess the sheep must've had floats or paddle boards. Anyway, since I left town this morning, I have walked over 20 miles and I have only seen trees until my campsite, which is surrounded by trees!

    By the way, the ringading church I slept next to last night was also illuminated. I only discovered that when I turned my light off to sleep and I could still see clearly.

    Photos - Forest! Tomorrow will be better for photos
    Read more