Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 51

    San Vicente de la Barquera

    October 1, 2023 in Spain ⋅ ☀️ 27 °C

    I checked and it is not a fiesta in San Vicente but there is one hell of a noisy party going on in the square. It'll be earplugs tonight, even for me!

    Anyway, today I have had the luck of walking through some great scenery and villages, and to end it in the inviting, if noisy, San Vicente is perfect.

    Yesterday, I noticed the guy on reception was watching football on his phone so I got talking to him. His favourite teams are Barcelona and Liverpool so it was all good and it wasn't long before he offered to get the Wolves v Man City game for me on the screen he had behind his desk. So yesterday I sat at the reception desk, cold beer in hand, watching the game with a Spanish Liverpool fan. Fortunately he checked the guests in while I tried to keep a lid on it. Surreal but great fun.

    Photos - my first view of San Vicente... it's retro night at the local disco...Comillas has amazing architecture (I could have spent the best part of a day there)...one of many beaches I walked past....and one of many golden churches....I loved this dinky house next to the small river
    Read more