Satélite
Exibir no mapa
  • Dia 64

    Walking to Santiago

    14 de outubro de 2023, Espanha ⋅ ☁️ 16 °C

    Overexcited, I decided to get to Santiago today which meant setting off in the dark.

    It was lovely when I only had glow worms for company but it wasn't long before I saw three pairs of eyes reflecting in my headtorch. And then the barking started. If the Spanish section of this walk had a soundtrack it would be barking dogs. Normally, they are chained or behind a fence but it was too dark for me to tell whether that was the case here and they didn't sound like pooches. They started to move towards me. I didn't want to take any chances so I turned my torch off and ran into the eucalyptus plantation to the right. I'm guessing it was eucalyptus because the trunks were dead straight and so too were the rows. Fortunately the dogs were still barking so I could tell where they were. I needed to get deeper into the trees. Still they were barking but it was more distant. I fumbled in a direction that would take me beyond the dogs and, when the barking was dull enough, I turned my torch on and found my way to the road. I'd heard others talk about being scared by dogs here and I always thought they were exaggerating the threat but I was genuinely concerned whether those dogs were tethered or not.

    I've just eaten with a Colombian, Latvian, and a bloke from Stoke who lives on a barge. You get all sorts here!

    Photos - Pilgrims never miss a photo op

    Another beautiful sunrise in Galicia

    A Roman bridge over Río Mera

    Eucalyptus. They deserve a photo since I have walked past so many

    Dog "greeting" a pilgrim
    Leia mais