Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 7

    Cusco

    February 11, 2020 in Peru ⋅ ☁️ 61 °F

    Monday - Left Huacachina in the dark to catch a bus back to Lima and then a short flight to Cusco which ended in stunning views. As the plane descended below the clouds lush mountains appeared, towering around the plane on either side. I felt the altitude as soon as we landed and the doors opened. At 11,150 feet, the city of Cusco is, quite literally, breathtaking. I made like the locals and munched on some coca leaves which cured the lightheadedness suprisingly quickly. After settling in and relaxing at my hostel for a while I explored the San Pedro market. It's full of every kind of fruit, vegetable, grain, spice, meat, and cheese imaginable and many I had never seen before. Vendors also sell colorful crafts and alpaca clothing. Overwhelmed by all the options and beginning to feel dizzy again, I bought a bag of coca leaves and returned to my hostel for the night.

    Tuesday - At the suggestion of a fellow traveler at my hostel, I spent the morning taking a walking tour of the historic district of the city. My tour guide showed us important historic sites with a focus on what Cusco was like during Inca times, before Spanish colonization. He also showed us the differences between Inca and Spanish architecture which is found all over the city. The tour ended with a ceviche tasting and incredible views of the city.
    Read more