Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 7

    Calzadilla de los Barros- Zafra 18km

    May 6, 2022 in Spain ⋅ ☀️ 34 °C

    The good thing about not getting a room in Fuente de Cantos was that we were about 7 km closer to Zafra, our next stopping point. Aurelio and I left very early, it was pitch dark but we knew that the first 3 km was all on the main road so we were not too worried about missing a sign. Ironically we would miss one in daylight. We saw the sign taking us off the road and followed it for a while...until we came to a dead end, when we retraced our steps about 2 km we found that there was a yellow arrow painted on a rock but it was obscured by long grass. We trampled down the grass so no one else would make the same mistake, and we set off again. Our mistake has cost us nearly an hour, having added 4km onto our day.

    Despite our unintended detour, we had a good walk, the path was mostly flat with a few long but gentle slopes and so we made good time. However, I was glad to see Puebla de Sancho Perez just a short distance ahead and we stopped there for a quick coffee in the main plaza before continuing on towards Zafra just about 4.5 km away.

    I had planned to stay at the Albergue Convento San Francisco in Zafra but Aurelio was going on another 4 km to Los Santos de Maimona, so we would be saying goodbye in Zafra. Aurelio had been a true companion and friend on the camino and I felt that I was going to miss his company. I will certainly never forget him and the help he gave me along the way. It is said that on the camino you will find help and friendship, often unlooked for, and I found that to be true.

    The albergue was in a former convent and was a lovely building on the far side of Zafra (less to walk tomorrow), and the hospitalera was really nice and helpful, but the albergue itself was lacking in some key areas. I was in a large room with two sets of bunk beds and a shower room, there was also a unit of lockers. However, the door to the shower didn't close, the lockers didn't lock, and the heavy wooden shutters on the long window didn't close properly either - I had to wedge them shut with my mochila. Furthermore, there were two gents and two ladies toilets and a disabled toilet but both the gents toilets and one of the ladies toilets were out of order, so not great. If I had not already paid my 15€ I would have packed up and gone on to Los Santos with Aurelio (apparently Keiko went there also).

    I went out to the shops before siesta, there was a SPAR just around the corner, and I got all the supplies I needed for the next day. Just across the street from the SPAR was a restaurant that the hospitalera had recommended so I went over, ordered a cerveza and was looking at the menu del dia when Robert and Ana María arrived and they joined me for a late lunch. The food was good and the conversation and company were excellent.

    I thought about wandering round Zafra, it's a lovely place, but I had seen it before and I was tired and needed to attend to my blisters which were healing nicely. when I got back to the albergue I discovered that I had a roommate, a Korean man (who looked a lot older than me but turned out to be 5 years younger. He only spoke Korean but used Google Translate as best he could. I was very surprised to find later that he had gone out for dinner but had left his tablet/touchscreen laptop and mobile phone on his bedside table. Crime is not a major issue on the Via de la Plata but peregrinos are advised to use common sense and be security aware, especially with any valuables.

    When he went to sleep he lay on top of his bunk fully clothed, with his hands clasped on his chest like a corpse in a funeral home. He also made the loudest noise I have ever heard come from a human being, snoring does not do it justice, it was epic. He would "snore" for a few minutes then stop for a few minutes then start again. It went on and on. As I lay there trying to sleep I found myself getting annoyed (I am normally not easily annoyed). I actually shouted at him to turn over, no response. I turned on the lights and shouted louder, no response. I went over to him and banged on the side of his bed and loudly told him to turn over, no response. I went back to bed expecting to be awake all night, annoyed at the prospect of doing a 20 km walk the next day with little or no sleep.

    As I lay in bed thinking about it, I suddenly realised that the greatest danger to me was not to walk 20 km with little or no sleep, rather, my greatest danger was to hold anger in my heart towards another human being made in the image of God and loved by him. That anger would change me and damage me more. Anger, leads to un-forgiveness, which leads to bitterness, which leads to the dark side. So, I prayed for a change of heart, and after a few moments I was calm and my blood pressure was normal again and I accepted the fact that I was probably going to be awake all night...and that's all I remember, because the Korean man stopped making his epic noise and I fell asleep within minutes.
    Read more