Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 44

    A Susanna - Santiago de Compostela 9 km

    June 12, 2022 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 22 °C

    We got up early, no surprise there, but we all had a great sleep, and set off making very good time. I don't remember much about the walk, it all seemed very quick , one minute we were on the outskirts of A Susanna and the next we were in Santiago.

    Although we never saw the sunrise over the city as we had hoped, it turned out to be a good time to arrive because the cathedral square was virtually empty. Just as we arrived a large group of cyclists came swooping in and parked all their bikes in front of the cathedral steps and started taking pictures of them. After 5 minutes of this Kathleen shouted something like "I'm sure your bikes are all very lovely, now can you move them out the way!" Much to my amazement, they did, and we got our photograph in front of the cathedral steps, like proper pilgrims.

    We then headed off the the Pilgrim Office to get our Compostelas, we were fortunate that a Viking friend of Anita's was there to help us through the process. As I went to get mine I got the same reaction that Mirjam had, the lady was very excited that I had walked all the way from Sevilla. Job done we went to the nearest restaurant for a very much needed and very decent breakfast.

    We then decided to explore the city, which is like every other old European city, it is a maze of streets that are confusing to navigate and problematic for Google Maps and a café every 20 metres. Anita had made her own arrangements for accommodation so Meg, Kathleen and I checked into the Last Stamp, and I was happy to note we were in the same dorm unit. We went out in search of dinner and found what is surely one of the bests restaurants in Spain, the Langrina, the food was amazing. We went back a few nights later and just had whatever the lovely (and incredibly beautiful) waitress suggested. Everything was amazing.

    Whilst the others enjoyed siesta, I went out and did some gift shopping for my family, small things - I had a 10 kilo limit on my baggage for the flight home. Just before 1800 I set off to the bus station to meet Mirjam off the bus. I was very conscious that when she first arrived in the city she was on her own, and I thought it would be good for a friendly face to be there to welcome her this time. I am glad I did. I took her backpack and we walked into the city and I helped her find her albergue. It took us a while and then I remembered that in Ourense the building numbers were no longer in use and it turned out to be the same here.

    Satisfied that she was settled in her albergue I went back to the Last Stamp and got into my bunk for the night. It had been a long day, but a very emotional, and very satisfying one.
    Read more