Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 46

    Santiago Day 3

    June 14, 2022 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 24 °C

    Today was a real emotional smorgasbord. After our dinner last night we had thought we would all go to the market for brunch together, but we all missed Anne and so we went down to the park near where she was staying and met her there. It was so good to see her and all thought of going for brunch was abandoned. We all had a wonderful time together, but it would come to an end soon enough.

    Our time in Santiago was drawing to a close, and that very day Mirjam would be getting the bus to Porto and then a flight home. She was the first of our little camino family to be leaving Spain. We left the park, all going in different directions, Julia set off to walk to A Coruña, Anita, Meg, Kathleen headed back to town, whilst Anne and I walked to the bus station with Mirjam. I carried Mirjam's mochila one last time as we walked through the busy streets and waited with her until the bus arrived. Mirjam is really cool about travelling, and she was happy to wait until everyone else got on board. The other passengers all seemed to be in such a rush. I wanted time to stop. We hugged and said our goodbyes not knowing if we would ever see one another again. It was the hardest moment of my camino. I had written a message to Mirjam to read on the bus, in which i called her 'nighean mo chridhe', which is Scots gaelic for 'daughter of my heart', for that is what she had come to be for me.

    In the afternoon, I went and bought a small wheeled suitcase to put my stuff in for the flight home, I had donated my mochila and sleeping bag to a homeless charity. Meg, Kathleen and Anita were heading off in the early morning to Barcelona so they spent some time packing then we went out for dinner back to the Langrina, where I had best salad I've ever eaten, (Anne was able to come since we were outside) and as a bonus I got to meet the chef (she was lovely, and hilarious). If I am ever in Santiago again, I will be booking a table there.

    So, it was a day of joys and sorrows and filled with memories that will never be forgotten and the hope that the goodbyes we had said and those still to come would not be the last word.
    Read more