Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 48

    Santiago Day 5

    June 16, 2022 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 24 °C

    I had to check out of The Last Stamp by 11am, but I was able to leave my case in their secure storage room. The staff had been very friendly and helpful throughout my stay and they were happy to order a taxi for the afternoon to take me to my accommodation near the airport. I walked round to the post office near the Pilgrim Office and posted my walking pole home, it was a lot less expensive than buying a new pole. I went for a cooked breakfast at the same place we went the day we got our Compostelas and it was great.

    I wandered around the city for a while taking photographs, stopping for coffee and directing lost pilgrims. Then it was time for my taxi to take me to my B&B near the airport, the driver spoke some English and was very impressed that I had walked from Sevilla, champion he said. The lady owner of the spoke great English, in fact she and her husband had lived and worked there for nearly 40 years. She made me a toasted sandwich and then insisted I try some of the local Galician cake, which was delicious.

    I had a quiet night thinking about Meg, Kathleen, Anita, Anne, Julia and Mirjam, and about the camino and how it had changed me, and about home, and wondered how much of the camino I would take home with me. Time will tell.
    Read more