Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 243

    At sea to the Falklands

    February 29, 2020, South Atlantic Ocean ⋅ 🌬 11 °C

    I woke up initially at 3.40am and I think this was when we exited the Beagle Channel as the swell seemed to build suddenly although the sound of the waves and the boats movement was v soothing.
    When I woke again at 6.45am it was a lighter shade of grey but barely light. I couldn’t bear to stay in bed so leaving K I went down to the 4th floor, got a tea from the 24hr tea and coffee station and took it to the 7th floor Observation Lounge where I was the only person so got the pick of the sofas.
    It was raining heavily but there were a few sea birds - mainly storm petrels and sooty shearwaters - riding the wind currents.
    I finished my tea and couldn’t stand to be inside any longer so it was back down to the cabin (sorry K) got my wet weather gear on and went out the the 5th floor observation deck just outside our cabin. Just me and the ocean and birds at this point- I was in heaven!!
    07.45am it was back inside as it was time to get ready for 8am buffet breakfast.

    See daily journal for rest of daily activities.

    After the most delicious a la carte 6 course dinner with wine K and I took a coffee up to the Obs Lounge on the 7th floor where we had the whole place to ourselves as it was dark outside.
    K went for a shower and I dressed in wet weather gear and went back out onto the Obs deck in the dark as the moon was rising to the port side.
    We are now not far off the Falkland Islands.... our first stop on the tour, due tmrw.
    When I went back to the cabin K pointed out I had been on everyone’s TV ( if they had it on the right channel) as there is a camera on the front Obs Deck!! Too funny!!
    Tmrw it’s our first landing on the Falklands and hopefully our first photos of the black browed Albatross and the southern rock hopper penguins which are significantly declining in number ☹️
    Read more