Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 57–60

    Ho Chi Minh

    March 5 in Vietnam ⋅ ☀️ 34 °C

    I arrived into Ho Chi Minh at around 4pm on March 5th after a 10 hour journey from Phnom Penh.
    I stayed at Saigon Chill Hostel in district 1 - with every other tourist!!
    I was excited to finally arrive in Vietnam, as I had heard such good things from other travellers on my trip.
    The first evening I tried to set up a SIM card - without any luck and I came back to the hostel where I met a few people (Canadian guy, and an English/Irish couple) who were super friendly.
    I ate in a restaurant called home Saigon restaurant, which was very veggie friendly.
    On the 6th March I decided to do some exploring - I went to the war museum, Saigon central post office, and explored the area where the cafe apartments are. It was crazy seeing how much traffic is in HCM - and learning how to navigate crossing the road!
    For dinner I decided to try my first Banh Mi - which was pretty good 🤤
    On Thursday 7th I signed up to go to the Cu Chi tunnels with the hostel. It was very fascinating seeing the techniques used during the Vietnam war. I met really nice people on this tour who I went for dinner with when we got back. One thing about HCM is how hot/humid the weather was 🥵
    On Friday 8th I booked a bus to start my journey from south to north - with my first stop being Da Lat.
    Read more