Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 8

    Chamonix, Day 3

    March 21, 2023 in France

    Today, Andrew and I were very grumpy getting up. As Dad made breakfast, Andrew and I slowly got ready to ski. Mom wasn’t going, because she was traumatized from yesterday. We left the apartment at around 9:30. We were heading to Le Tour mountain to ski. We hopped on the gondola and skied the first mountain for the morning and part of the afternoon. Then, we stopped and ate lunch, pizza, pasta and salad. While we were there, birds kept begging people for food! Andrew gave them pizza crust and pasta, and they LOVED the pasta. After lunch, we took the gondola down and drove to another mountain, which was way harder. So far, there was no fog and it was sunny, perfect weather for sking. At this mountain, there was a racing course that timed you. Andrew wanted to do it, so we did. It was fun, because there was jumps and turns, Andrew loved it. Then, we skied down and got on a lift to do it again. This time, Andrew betted gelato on it, 3 scoops if he beat Dad and I’s time. For me, 2 scoops if I beat Dad, 3 if I beat Andrew. In the end, Andrew beat both of our times. In fact, he got better! As for me, I did not beat Dad or Andrew, but Dad said maybe to 2 scoops. We were all tired, so we started to go down the mountain, but we missed the turn to the gondola! We had to ski this hard red, Andrew took it like a champ, while Dad and I took our time. It was really hard, but we made it! Dad then said that I could get 2 scoops, maybe 3! After we got our skis in the car, we drove to a little bakery for a little snack, then we drove back to the apartment. We met up with Mom, and returned our skis, then headed to dinner. We had raclette, which was like fondue, but it was on the triangle of cheese, and it was heated by a charcoal mini oven. It was really cool. We ate it with bread, potatoes and charcuterie. As the cheese melted, you scraped it off with a big knife. It was yummy 😋. We also had beef bourguignon, Mom and Dad said they have made better at home. It tasted like dry briscuit to me. After dinner, we got gelato and crepes, and went to sleep.
    See you tomorrow, Renee
    Read more