Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 8

    Edinburgh variety

    July 11, 2017 in Scotland ⋅ ☀️ 12 °C

    We may have woken to a dry day but by the time we walked out the door the rain was back.
    Not timely as we were walking to the other end of the Royal Mile to visit Holyrood Palace, the Queen's summer residence. She probably needs to review that based on the weather we have experienced! I could give her some other ideas for locations.
    The Palace was interesting and oh so old. It was fasinating that as old as everything was in the rooms we saw that they are still used for State functions with the Queen.
    After the palace we caught a bus back to town and hopped off at Charlotte Square in the New Town. From here we walked to Deans Village, Bernard' s Well and onto Canonmills (forming a section of the Walk of Leith). It started off quite a beautiful picturesque walk but I was disappointed as we got further back towards the city. We ended up cutting the last part of the walk and heading into town to enjoy some shelter from the rain and soup in a café.
    After lunch we browsed thru a few more streets and made our way back to the Old Town. Later in the afternoon we went to an entertainment experience (I think that's what you would call it) called the Edinburgh Dungeons. I did initially suggest to Phil that he might like to go solo but he assured me it would be fun. I have since realised I should have gone with my gut instinct. It was two hours I will never get back in my life!
    Later we went and relaxed in another old tavern, stayed on for dinner and went shopping looking for another bottle of the whiskey liquer that we bought yesterday as we have already been downing the contents enthusiastically and will have nothing left to return home with.
    Tonight the sky is clear and blue for the first time in three days and remembering that it doesn't get dark until very late I think it will even be colder later on.
    Edinburgh has been a delight to visit but in the morning its time to move on again.

    Phil - We have certainly "done" Edinburgh. Lovely old town. Last night I was accused of short filling the shot glass with whiskey, and this evening I am walking down the street with the water and Wendy has the bottle of whiskey!!!! Scotland has turned her.
    Yes, the Edinburgh Dungeons could have been better considering the reviews. Very corny and the actors who tried to scare you, did their best. You have to try these things.
    Had fish & chips for tea. The mushy peas are good and I will be looking for the recipe when I get home.
    About to pick up the car tomorrow, so off we go bush bashing.
    Read more